I have forgotten how to shop

Me in the last place I’ve purchased clothes.

It was a year ago on July 11 in Paris that I bought a blue shirt with satin ribbon at the neck. Odd perhaps to have such a strong memory of a shirt, but it wasn’t long after that purchase that I made the decision to go a year without buying any new clothes.

I figured it would probably be a good way to save money, and I kind of just wanted to see if I could. Underwear, socks, and scarves were my exceptions, and, as of yesterday, I had met my goal. I’d gone 365 days without buying myself any new clothes. Now, it’s 366 days.

I didn’t mean for it to be 366 days; I was going to buy something new for myself in honor of my accomplishment. I went to the mall, I went to Target, I went online, and I put things in my shopping cart and tried things on. And there were many cute things, a bright red cardigan, an elegant black dress, a simple but sweet tank top. Online I found some outdoors-y stuff, a long sleeve thermal and a performance fleece.

But I couldn’t pull the trigger and go through the checkout.

For each thing I picked up, in my head, I acknowledged that yes, it would be nice to own that piece of clothing. It was more in-style than anything I have and would make a perfect addition to my wardrobe. But for each thing, I could think of something similar that I already owned; I didn’t need another cardigan or black dress. I couldn’t justify getting anything new.

Being in-between having my own apartment means that I’ll have to pack up and having one less outfit to stuff into a suitcase isn’t a bad thing. Working online as a teacher, writer, and editor means my daily wardrobe choices don’t really matter. It will be nice to buy myself something new, but I’ve found I just can’t do it yet. There will need to be a reason; before, I could go shopping anytime – I liked it; it was fun. But now I’ve forgotten how to shop; I’m out of the habit. And I think that might be a good thing.

This entry was posted in Musings and Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have forgotten how to shop

  1. Riot Kitty says:

    I hate shopping. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

